Month: June 2008









  • Trip to Hawaii and California 089.jpg






    WHERE DO RED-HEADED BABIES
    COME FROM ??
    After their baby was born, the panicked father
    went to see the Obstetrician. 'Doctor,' the man
    said, 'I don't mind telling you, but I'm a little
    upset because my daughter has red hair. She
    can't possibly be mine!!'

    'Nonsense,' the doctor said'.


    'Even though you and your wife both have black
    hair, one of your ancestors may have contributed red hair to the gene pool.'


    'It isn't possible,' the man insisted.'This can't be,
    our families on both sides had jet-black hair for
    generations.'


    'Well,' said the doctor, 'let me ask you this. How
    often do you have sex??? '
    The man seemed a bit ashamed . 'I've been
    working very hard for the past year We only
    made love once or twice every few months.'


    'Well, there you have it!' The doctor said
    confidently.


    'It's rust.'

    Trip to Hawaii and California 067.jpg


    Had to take a photo of  this headstone, democrat to the end, she made it almost 100 years.  I'll probably be one of those, too.


    Trip to Hawaii and California 015.jpg    


    this is Penny the great, you can see how skinny she is, very uncomfortable with the basketball sized tumor under her  ribcage .  I couldn't make her suffer any longer.    Still feel bad when I think about it.           I miss her.   


    Trip to Hawaii and California 203_edited-1.jpg


    OUCH!  Here's the photo of my foot, after I stepped on the Sea Urchin in Hawaii.  I told my kids to order Urchin at every Sushi restaurant they go to, 12 little black needles on the arch at the top of my foot.  Carumba!


    Trip to Hawaii and California 220.jpg


    Debi already posted the photo of the Sea Turtle, but it's cool, so I'm posting my shot!          


     Trip to Hawaii and California 233.jpgz143004451


    On the Big Island, where Dancing Brush and her hubby were most wonderful hosts, they drove us to the lava that flows into the sea.  Pretty incredible! They drove us practically anywhere we could think of going!  I give them the award of "Best Hosts"!  I'd be glad to mooch off of them any day they'd let me! and Ricky, I really hope your biopsy is clean! Fingers crossed!


    I loved the way we would all ever-so-politely try to pay for meals, Deb was/is bossy, and would have none of it, so I had to learn to trick her, by saying I was going potty or some such, and then giving the Am ex to the waitress and telling her to be quick about it, as her tip depended on speed!  I remember coming out of the restroom, and Ricky and Deb are wondering where the heck the waitress is, so they can pay, and the waitress, who saw me walking up, comes over and says "It's all been taken care of"  the look on Deb's face was pretty priceless! and Ricky gave me a stern lecture about not being so sneaky.  I was having a very proud moment at the time.  After all, they were driving all over the place in the "Titanic", which is what Deb has named the Titan that Ricky's 'beloved' husband drives, it was the very least I could do.....now, don't either of you women argue with me, I know I'm right!


    The American Cancer Society has an annual walk, and my son's girlfriend formed a team of walkers and they walked for me up in Portland, I was quite touched and proud, then my son sends me a photo of my luminary - I posted photos of the luminaries last year, I thought it was such a wonderful idea! Bobby's luminary said "Mom, thank you for surviving cancer, I love you and I'm very proud of you"  Made me get teary. I vacillate between loving him so much and wanting to throttle him......he's so much like his father, I know he'll make me proud.


    I had an old friend find me on my Facebook site, what a thrill that was!  Then her handsome son decided to be my friend....I can still remember him in diapers, now he's 25!!!  They are missionaries in Spain, now.  That was a real treat.  I felt bad because they are in my old religion, and when Bob died, they made a huge sacrifice and drove all the way from Madera to be at the funeral. A good 10 or 12 hour drive, I've drove it.  I know from their beliefs, they think he's in hell, and I just couldn't take anyone thinking that such a good man was burning up down there.  So I said that if anyone used his death as a reason to persuade people to come into their religion, I put a curse on them.  And I meant it to the very core of my being.  Bob was a wonderful man, and loved God very much, went to church more than I did, and to know someone might use his story to scare people to the altar, it made me furious!


    I have thought about the Wiggins many times, tried to get ahold of them, to tell them I was sorry.  Here they drive all night, show up early for the funeral, and this crazy banshee like woman comes running out to tell them off...I (bitch that I can be sometimes) would have turned around and drove home.  But they truly loved me and my husband, we'd been through many years of friendship, I almost thought of her as a younger sister, he handled my curses with so much grace and love.  He even got up at the funeral and said what a wonderful man, father, husband and friend Bob had been to them over all these years.  It makes me cringe to think of it, the grace he showed after my rudeness.  He actually came over to the Grange Hall for the dinner our Grange friends had prepared ( they loved him, too) and when I asked him to please come over to my dad's house, he did that too.  Knowing he had a very long drive ahead of him, and tomorrow he would have to speak the service at church.  I felt chagrined, still do, whenever I think of it.  When I was down in California, I stopped by the McGuire's house, they told me they were in Spain as missionaries.  I didn't say a word about my recent bout with brain cancer.  I don't trust Pentecostal's to not gloat over any misfortunes people have when they "backslide", I've heard it so many times.  I remember Lorie Garza, the pastor's wife at my old church, calling the funeral home to say how sorry she was, the director asked if I would take the call, and I refused without a second's hesitation.  Didn't want to talk to anyone who thought he was in hell. I could remember Lorie saying how ugly the girl (Carol) was who had left the church.  And I lived there after I stopped attending church for one and a half years.  I ran the floral department at the local Safeway, she walked by me many times and never said ONE word to me, now she wants me to go to the phone at my husbands viewing?!  I would have cussed at her, for sure, told her to go to hell herself!  Good thing I said "no!"


    Aaargh! I'm getting worked up just thinking about it!


    Jill, I'm sorry you lost your son, my heart bleeds for you.  No parent should have to bury a child.  My old father-in-law said it, and I believe it.  Can't think of a larger pain, and I've had some!


    Rita, I'm also sorry about your best friend losing her son.  A real trajedy, one you've already had the bad luck to live through.  I know your huge heart, and you will be a wonderful comfort to her.


    To all of you that send me messages of encouragement, Thank you  very much!  I love you all, right back! Great friends I have here on Xanga!


    Shellie the great