February 11, 2008

  • I Sooooo dislike February….

    Can’t let today slip by without mentioning that it is Bobbers 5 year anniversary since he died.  Thanks Cnd Frnd for the thoughts.  I’ve been dreading it, of course, been cranky, irritable, can’t sleep, as my dad would say, “Wound tighter then an eight day clock”.  That’s me. 


    I’ve bit Rick’s head off so many times I’m actually embarrassed.  Have this huge weight on my heart, don’t know how he hasn’t suffocated me with a pillow yet .  February 9th, the anniversary of my cancer surgery, the 11th, the anniversary of his death, and the 14th, the night of his viewing. 


    It’s a stinky month for me in so many ways.  I also have my daughters B-day, she’s going to be 23!!!  Where does time go?  We used to call February “Kristy’s Birthday month” because everything she asked for, always had “and my birthday is this month!” added to it in February.  We gave up and just started calling it her birthday month for convienience sake, plus, my husband adored her and thought everything she did was cute.  Might account for later problems.


    Bobby called and said that he used to think 5 years was forever, and now it seems like last week.  I was happy to talk to him on the phone.


    Bobbers, I love and miss you, and these anniversary dates are hard for me.  Richard says there are times he has to live with a ghost, and I apologize for making him suffer.  Rick, you rawk!

Comments (29)

  • ((((((((((Shellie))))))))))

  • BIG HUGS at this incredibly painful time. Rick is strong and loving… he can deal with ghosts and moods.
    I love sharing my birthday with your daughter… it’s a privilege. Maybe you could try to concentrate more on it being us fabulous girls’ birthday month? Or maybe even celebrate “the month the evil cancer was cut out”.

  • It seems like only yesterday you had your surgery. Better this year than last, eh?

    Happy Birthday to your baby girl. She’s getting old! :whistle:

  • I say we just do away with the month of February. What good is it anyway? It’s missing a couple of days. {{{{HUGS}}}}

  • I too have a couple of February dates I’d rather not remember. It does take time to get passed the pain and hold onto the happy memories. Being a cancer survivor is something to be very happy about though. Add my hugs to those above.

  • I love you and am here if you ever just need to pick up that phone and talk.

    Love the letter from your daughter.  She is precious!

    Been dealing with a lot these pat 6 months, Katie was very  ill and I have spent every waking moment trying to get her back to health.  She is doing much better and all her testing came back normal and clear!

    But it has been along road and a hard one:) 

    We have all kinds of legal issues at the same time that fill our days, nights and weekends!  Work related, evil ex employees.  It has been a test of my mental and physical health this past year along with Katie’s health issues. 

    One thing I do know I thank god each day for giving us our health and will never take that for granted. 

    Love you guys and hope to see you sooner than later!  Isn’t it time you guys came up and visit?

    Thinking of you all week Shell…..

  • Happy Birthday to the girl who can do no wrong! I’ll bet she is a sweetie if she comes from you.

    I’m sorry it’s such a hard time for you. I send you hugs!

  • Big hugs coming your way Shellie - For your children and Rick too.  on the “living with a ghost” comment.  You and Rick are BOTH blessed but you know that, don’t you?

  • Hang in there sweetie. Even tho its leap year, its still a short month so it should be over quickly.

  • At least it’s a short month. I hate it too. My mom died (unexpected heart thing) 16 years ago this month. Seems like a million years ago and like yesterday. It’s not easy.

    But Shellie, this year is one year past the hell you had to go thru last year. You just enjoy it with your Richard, you both deserve it!

  • Thinking of you, Shellie.

  • Rick’s a good guy. I can’t imagine how hard this time of year must be for you!

  • The letter from your daughter brought tears to my eyes. Such wonderful sentiment. My daughter is 23 in June and it only seems like yesterday that she was a baby. Doesn’t time fly so fast. Sorry that Feb is so bad for you . It is nearly over. All the best. Gosh a year since surgery hasn’t that gone fast too. cheers Y

  • I know it is hard to live with a ghost, i’ve been where Rick is.  But I have not been where you are.  Thanks for your cute comment   :bunnyshake:

  • What a treasure that letter from your daughter is. There is light at the end of the tunnel. You are so loved- I think that is what gets you through the hard times. Blessings on you and a great big hug as well. Emlee

  • It’s March now!!! We’re going to hawaii! Pack your suitcase!

  • Aloha Birthday Girl! Arnt you lucky! Debi wouldnt let me sing to you this morning, she let you sleep in! Happy Birthday Dear Shellie! And many many more!

  • I’m late! I’m late! I’m late!

    But anyway…

    ….Happy Birthday! Hope you’re doing well!

  • You can’t roll back time! Post woman!
    Signed,
    The Pot Calling the Kettle Black

  • Hey – how ya been doin?

  • it was so wonderful to get to talk with you the other day!  you really made irma’s day…she was smiling from ear to ear when i told her bout the hat stuff…she was thinking the very same thing when you mentioned it! :D   wishing you the very best! :) :)

  • Okay, it is soooo not February anymore … it’s not even March!  I wanna see some beautiful sunsets!  Pleeeeeze post some photos from Maui?  And please stay longer next time!  Oh, oh, remember when I asked what was the most likely injury you would get on Maui?  I never even THOUGHT of sea urchin stings!  How’s your foot?

  • I was also going to say that Feb has now given way to April…how time flies. I havent been on lately and I find out that neither have you. My daughter is 23 very soon. Doesnt time go by so quickly.

  • :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon: :rockon:

  • It is no longer February. It is no longer March–we are at the END of APRIL woman!!! Move it!!!

  • …and that picture of Rick is creeping me out!

  • Yeah, that pic really is kinda creepy.

    How are you? Where are you? Did you get lost in Hawaii or something? Hello?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *